EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

"The May 2, 2020 election has been canceled since there were no challengers to the incumbents. This action was taken on March 16, 2020 as part of a regularly scheduled board meeting."

Member Title Email Address Term - Begin Term - End
Lewis Boeker President lboeker@forsan.esc18..net 2018 2021
Chris Evans Vice President cevans@forsan.esc18.net 2019 2022
Beckie Wash Secretary bwash@forsan.esc18.net 2019 2022
Kristi Elliott Trustee kelliott@forsan.esc18.net 2020 2023
Jimmy Miller Trustee jmiller@forsan.esc18.net 2020 2023
Chad Myers Trustee cmyers1@forsan.esc18.net 2020 2023
Chris Olson Trustee colson@forsan.esc18.net 2018 2021
Elections Contact Information
Jason Mims jmims@forsan.esc18.net 432-457-2223
PO Box 689, Forsan, TX 79733

SCHOOL BOARD TRUSTEE ELECTION INFORMATION

Date and Location of Next Trustee Election (Tex. Gov't Code 2051.152(a)(3))

The date of the district's next election will be the first Saturday in May of each year.

Requirements and Deadline for Filing For Candidacy (Tex. Gov't Code 2051.152(a)(4))

An application for a place on the ballot must be in writing; signed, sworn to by the candidate before a person authorized to administer an oath, and dated; timely filed with the district's filing authority; and contain specified information about the candidate:

  • The candidate's name, date of birth, and occupation;
  • The candidate's residence address or the address at which the candidate receives mail with a description of the location of the candidate's residence;
  • The candidate's length of continuous residence in Texas and in the district (and single member district, if applicable) as of the date the candidate swears t the application;
  • If available, a public mailing address and email address at which the candidate receives correspondence relating to the candidate's campaign;
  • The office sought, including any place or other distinguishing number and an indication of whether the office sought is for a full or unexpired term;
  • Statements that the candidate is a U.S. citizen; and has not been determined by a court to be mental incapacitated; has not been convicted of a felony; is aware of the nepotism law; and swears an oath to support and defend the U.S. and Texas Constitutions and laws.

Eligibility

  • Is a United States citizen;
  • Is 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable;
  • Has not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote;
  • Has not been convicted of a felony;
  • Has resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately preceding the following date:
    • For an independent candidate, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate's application for a place on the ballot;
    • For a write-in candidate, the date of the election at which the candidate's name is written in; or
    • For an appointee to an office, the date the appointment is made;
  • Is registered to vote in the territory from which the office is elected on the date described above; and
  • Satisfies any of the eligibility requirements prescribed by law for the office.

Additional Requirements

  • To be elected to a school board, an individual must be a qualified voter: 18 years of age or older, a U.S. citizen, a Texas resident, a registered voter, not determined to be totally or partially mentally incapacitated by an appropriate court, and not finally convicted of a felony. Tex. Educ. Code 11.061.
  • A person is ineligible to serve on a school board if the person has been convicted of a felony or n offense under Texas Penal Coded section 43.02(b) regarding prostitution. Tex. Educ. Code 11.066.

Deadline

The first day to file an application for a place on the ballot in a school district's general election is the 30th day before the filing deadline. The filing deadline for a general election is 5:00 PM on the 78th day before an election day. Tex. Educ. Code 11.055(1); Tex. Elec. Code 144.005. The deadline to file a declaration of write-in candidacy is 5:00 PM on the 74th day before election.

Questions

For more information, call FISD Administration at 432-457-2223.